Women now have until 31 October to apply for the $10k Rural Women’s Award bursary

With so much interest from media and rural women following the 2012 Australian RIRDC Rural Women’s Award Dinner in Canberra on 9 October we have extend the closing date for 2013 Award applications to Wednesday 31 October.

For details on how you can apply and the sorts of ideas or projects that could be supported see our website.

For some extra inspiration check out these fantastic videos of our 2012 State and Territory winners. Make sure you watch the ‘Meet the finalists’ video and the individual clips of each of the winners : ) I guarantee you will be inspired!

If you still need some extra encouragement here’s what our 2009 NSW/ACT Award Winner Kim Currie has to say…

‘We are all so busy that it’s easy to not go the next step from thinking about applying to actually applying. My experience is an example of why women should take this time, assess what they could do in their career with this stepping stone and enjoy the challenge.

‘The process of applying for the RIRDC Rural Women’s Award focused me on looking at what I had been doing in my career and how I might do that better. I was also able to dream about what I might do with the help of a bursary and this too gave me helpful insights. I feel quietly proud that I was able to pass the Australian Institute of Company Directors exam 30 years after I last studied for anything! The time spent with this group of women from across Australia was utterly inspiring and this combined with the opportunity to do the course would by itself have been a rich reward.

‘My work is constantly referenced by the study tour I conducted, often in surprising and subtle ways. Going that next step from just thinking about it has changed my life, and hopefully that of others as well.’

About nswrwn

NSW Rural Women’s Network is a government program working in innovative ways to promote leadership and action on rural women’s issues. The RWN team is dedicated to connecting and exchanging information with women and stakeholders in rural, regional and remote communities.
This entry was posted in agriculture, bursary, business, Communities, education and training, farming, leadership, NSW Rural Women's Network, RIRDC rural women's award, rural women, scholarships, women. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

